Day 2 – FCAO Meeting – Updates By Br. Praveen Henry D’ Souza, the Minister Provincial

It's Indonesia and the day begins much earlier here. We had the second day beginning at 6am with Mass and Prayer. Friar Carlos the Minister Provincial of South Korea and the President of EAC was the Main-Celebrant.

Our session began at 8.30am. We once again summarised the work done yesterday. Friar John the Custos of Singapore was very good at being the moderator and did a wonderful work.

Then Friar Greg the Definitor General gave us a session on the PCO, the Plenary Council of the Order to be held in Nairobi next year. He gave us the plan of preparation. The conferences have to take active part in this by electing two councillors for the preliminary work. The General is looking forward for greater participation through this.

Then we all went in groups to discuss once again the proposals and possible recommendations and resolution that this conference wants to make. We had lunch at 12 pm.

Afternoon was dedicated for Visits. We first visited the Poor Clares. There were about 14 of them. We found them to be very joyful. They laughed a lot. There were two very old Sisters bound to wheel chair but very happy. The Abbess in her welcome address said that the coming of the friars was a proof that the promise of St. Francis was valid still.

After this we visited the Parish run by Friars. It's a beautiful Parish next to the President's residence. The people still use the very traditional musical instruments for the choir.

From here we went to the orphanage run by the Friars. There are about 150 boys. On the same campus there are Sisters who also run the orphanage for girls, one by the FMM Sisters.

We ended the day with some delicious dinner and recreation.

St. Francis of Assisi

FRAIRS B'DAYS (September)

Arikiam John
8 / September / 1976

Niranjan Toppo
8 / September / 1993

Salun Kispotta
9 / September / 1995

Athanasius Xaxa
10 / September / 1959

John Sekar
13 / September / 1982

Varghese Sebastian
17 / September / 1947

Mesia Elias Moses M.
19 / September / 1973

Tom John
20 / September / 1961

A.Mathew Joseph
23 / September / 1989

Sagaya Soosairaj
25 / September / 1968

Nicholas D' Souza
28 / September / 1945

Lourdu Augustine
28 / September / 1976

Pradeep Anthony L.
28 / September / 1992

Sushil Beck
29 / September / 1973

Salim Baxla
29 / September / 1974