OFM Franciscans - India

About Us

Origin and Charism of the Order

The Order of Friars Minor founded by St. Francis of Assisi (1182-1226) is a fraternity. In this fraternity the friars follow Jesus Christ more closely under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit; through profession they dedicate themselves totally to God whom they love above all, living the Gospel in the Church according to the form observed and proposed by St. Francis. Friars, as followers of St. Francis, are bound to lead a radically evangelical life, namely: to live in a spirit of prayer and devotion and in fraternal fellowship; they are to offer a witness of penance and minority; and, in charity towards all mankind, they are to announce the Gospel throughout the whole world and to preach reconciliation, peace and justice by their deeds; and to show respect for creation.

OFM in India

The Dutch Franciscans started the first house in Bangalore, India in1948. Our Province was restructured in 2008 and created two more entities in India, with a Region in North India and a Foundation in North East India.


We, as the Franciscan Province of St. Thomas the Apostle, are a part of a worldwide Brotherhood with International and Intercultural dimensions. We are called to give greater quality to our vocation through a joyful and vibrant witness to the Gospel among all peoples, in fraternity and minority.

Types of Apostolate

Our Apostolate consists mainly of Parish ministry, School, Social Institutions like Boys Homes, ITI, Preaching ministries, Ashram ministry etc. Entities
The Province of St. Thomas, the Apostle in India, consists of the States of Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Kerala.
The dependent Custody (Region) of Mary, the Mother of God consists of the states of Goa, Maharashtra, M.P, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, and Orissa.
The dependent Foundation of St. Francis of Assisi in North East India consists of Assam and the other States of the North East. At the moment, we have our apostolate and mission work in Assam






Gabriel Mathias
01 April

Rajasekhar Reddy Gopu
07 April

John Chrysostom
08 April

Agnel D’Mello
13 April

Mathew Kootumkal
14 April

Cajetan S. Lourenco
14 April

Richard D ;Silva
16 April

Shanborlang Wartde
16 April

Peter Saleth Nathan J.
17 April

Ushar Kachhua
17 April

Anthony Roobandass
23 April

Johnny Anthony
24 April

Thaddeus Bazla
26 April

Arun Prakash
29 April